JEE Mains

JEE Mains Information, Exam Pattern and Preparation Tips

Info About JEE Main


minimum of 75% in the class XII board examination


National Testing Agency (NTA)



11.86 lakh

  • Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) is an engineering entrance examination conducted for admission to various engineering colleges in India. It is constituted by two different examinations - JEE Main and the JEE Advanced. The exams are of the objective pattern. JEE Advanced is regarded internationally as one of the most challenging undergraduate admission tests.

  • In 2012, the government-run Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) that earlier conducted the AIEEE, announced the JEE that replaced the AIEEE and IIT-JEE. The JEE-Main, which replaces AIEEE, is for admission to the National Institutes of Technology (NITs), Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIITs), and some other colleges designated as "centrally funded technical institutes" (CFTIs) The JEE-Advanced, which replaces IIT-JEE, is for admission to the Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs). Only the students selected in JEE Mains are eligible for appearing in JEE Advanced.

  • There are some institutes like the Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research (IISERs), Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Petroleum Technology, and the Indian Institute of Science which use the score obtained in JEE Advanced as the basis for admission. These are not participating institutes of central IIT JEE Advanced counseling of which all IITs are members. Any student who takes admission to IITs cannot appear for the JEE-Advanced exam in the next year, but the same is not the case with IISc, IISER, RGIPT and other institutes as these institutes only use JEE Advanced score for admission.

  • In September 2013, the IIT Council approved the decision of the Joint Admission Board to continue with the two-phase JEE pattern ("Main" followed by "Advanced") for IITs in 2014. Joint Seat Allocation Authority (JoSAA) conducted the joint admission process for a total of 23 IITs, ISM, 32 NITs, 18 IIITs and 19 other Government Funded Technical Institutes (GFTIs).

  • As per the reports from Ministry of Human Resources Development (MHRD) of Government of India, the government is considering to conduct only one common engineering entrance test based on the lines of NEET for all engineering colleges, including private institutions, across India


  • JEE Main 2020 will be conducted by NTA (National Testing Agency) twice a year for admission to B.E./B.Tech & B.Arch courses. Earlier, CBSE used to organise the national level engineering entrance examination. Paper 1 of JEE Main (B.E./B. Tech) is a gateway to various IITs, NITs, IIITs and CFTIs. While JEE Main Paper 2 is held for admission to B. Arch course.

  • On the basis of JEE Main Score, around 25220 seats Engineering and Architecture seats are filled every year. JEE Main is a 3-hours duration exam consisting of Objective Type and Drawing Aptitude (only for Paper 2) questions. Objective type questions are based on class 11 and 12th science syllabus. NTA is the new organizing authority and will conduct JEE Main twice a year. There will be no change in the pattern of the examination. The registration process will begin in September 2019. The exam is held in multiple sessions in online mode. The process of registering for JEE Main, issuance of Admit Card to publishing of Results will be done in online mode through the official website Please note that applicants' Aadhaar Card is mandatory for JEE Main Registration

Name of Examination

JEE Main 2020

Conducting Body

NTA (National Testing Agency)

Official Website

Mode of Application


Exam Level

National Level UG Entrance

Mode of Exam

Online & Offline

Number of Papers

2 (Paper 1 for B.E./B. Tech <> Paper 2 for B. Arch/B. Planning)

JEE Main Eligibility Criteria

Candidates need to fulfil primarily 4 eligibility conditions to apply for JEE Main 2020, the same is tabulated below:


Eligibility for Appearing in JEE Main

Relaxation (for reserved categories)

Age limit

Must have been born on or after Oct 1, 1994

5 Years relaxation for SC, ST and PWD

Minimum qualifying marks (for admission in NITs, IIITs, IITs and CFTIs)

75% marks in aggregate

65% marks in aggregate

Year of passing class 12

Passing after 2016 or appearing in 2019


Total number of attempts




  • The exam organizing body allows candidates with 40% or more disability to avail the assistance of a Scribe or a Reader.

  • Candidates applying for B.E./B. Tech should have studied Physics and Mathematics along with Chemistry/Biology/Biotechnology while candidates applying for B. Arch/B. Planning should have studied Mathematics in their +2 level.

  • There is no specification on pass percentage in the qualifying examination to write JEE Main. However, for admissions into the IITs, NITs, IIITs and CFTIs, candidates need to have an aggregate score of 75% in the qualifying exam (65% for SC/ST/PwD categories)

JEE Main Reservation Criteria

The exam conducting body assigns All India Rankings to candidates as per their respective categories following the GOI directives regarding reservation as tabulated below:


Reservation Percentage

Other Backward Caste (Non-Creamy Layer)


Scheduled Castes (SC)


Scheduled Tribes (ST)


Persons with Disability (PwD)


The benefit of reservation for admission into the NITs/IIITs and CFTIs are extended in accordance with central category list published by the GOI. State Engineering colleges accepting JEE Main scores abide by the state reservation rules.